Learning How to Harness Energy to Make Us Powerful

by Kimberly Eve

Let's Talk Energy

I talk a lot about energy.  The Energy in and of the places I have been, in the places I want to go, and within people I meet and know. 

Energy is a life force. It feeds us, it moves us, it makes us feel seen and heard.

It goes by many names, depending on your belief or your location and even your calling.

Qi, Ki, (pronounced like key), Chi, Prana or Holy Spirit.  

No matter your belief, or lack thereof, each one embodies and means the exact same thing….“Life Force”.

It is an unseen, but widely felt, maybe intangible thing that surrounds us, inside and out. It’s the guiding force that moves us.

It’s in the air, in the water, in the earth and in us. To be quite literal, it’s a force that moves mountains. 

When yogis speak of prana, they mean the energetic force that moves through your body and through your breath.   

Western religions sometimes refer to it as the Holy Spirit. The mean a being or an all powerful “force” or God, that guides your life.

Eastern religions tend to gear towards the Qi or Chi or Ki which in its literal translation means Life Force.

New Age, which is really old age religion, speak of energy quite plainly for what it is, energy. 

Some may even refer to the divine feminine or masculine. More modern versions refer to it as a vibe, a feeling.

All of them are the same idea, looked at in a different way.

I am an earth soul, who feels the energy of the people I know and meet and of the places I go. 

It’s the thing that draws me in and makes me want to explore more or stay away.  It’s an internal knowing that guides me, and connects me to the world.

Energy is the thing that leads me to explore and learn about the things that it can do for us.  

Energy and Reiki 

Reiki EnergyThis is what led me to Reiki years ago when I did a class and got my first level certificate.

This is what led me back to explore Reiki again recently and made me want to explore it in more depth.

Broken down, “Rei” is a Japanese word for universal. Ki means life force. So Reiki is the universal life force. 

Reiki is, at its core, energy healing. It’s a way to channel the energy of the universe for healing and balancing the mind, body and spirit. 

Tracing its history back to ancient Tibetan spiritual practices of using energy to heal, it was “(re)discovered” and brought to the world by Mikao Usui in the early 1900’s. 

While many eastern cultures have been aware of, and used life force energy for centuries, an interesting correlation to note – maybe even Jesus himself was a practitioner. Many claim he could heal with his touch. Who’s to say he wasn’t harnessing and using the energy used in Reiki? Thoughts? 

During a session with a Reiki practitioner, they use their hands as the energy “channel” and hold it on or over your body, generally moving from head to foot, stopping to focus the energy on various positions on your body. The energy will always flow to where it’s needed most, regardless of where the practitioner is currently focusing the energy.

Energy, Reiki and the Chakras 

Chakra Energy

Many of the hand positions and stopping points on the body during a reiki session are directly related to the energy centers of the body. 

There are seven main energy centers referred to in many practices today and they are called Chakras. Each chakras has an energy focus for specific aspects of the human mind, body and spirit and each is responsible for specific regions, functions and organs within the body.

The chakras energy points are positioned from the top of the head to the base of the spine. Here is a very simple overview of each.

The Crown Chakra is located at the top of your head, is usually associated with the color white or lavender and is the energy source of spiritual connection. Reiki positions can help alleviate headaches, stress and even help with digestion.

The Third Eye Chakra is located between and just above the eyebrows. Associated with the color purple, this chakra is the center of our intuition or inner knowing. Reiki positions can help with headaches, eye and sinus problems, and general body stress.

The Throat Chakra is associated with the color blue and is located at your throat. This chakra is related to communication and our voice.  Reiki energy can help improve issues with self expression and communication.

The Heart Chakra is located right at our heart and is associated with both green and pink. This chakra energy is connected to love, compassion, wisdom and more. Reiki sessions that touch your heart chakra can help with most internal organs and systems. They can help open you up to feeling compassion, love, joy and forgiveness.

The Solar Plexus Chakra is located about diaphragm level. This chakra is yellow in color and associated with our personal power, self esteem and uniqueness.  As with the heart chakra, reiki focusing on this area can help with most internal organs and systems.

The Sacral Chakra, orange in color, is between the belly button and pelvis. This is the core of our sexuality, creativity and intimacy. Again, reiki energy focussed here can help with most internal organs and systems.

The Root Chakra, red in color, is at the base of your spine. It represents our survival mode (flight or fight response) and our feelings of safety and security. Reiki energy focused here can help with reproductive organs and the legs, but also help balance the emotions that fuel our flight or fight response.

My journey on this matter will definitely continue. While I will start a dedicated practice on myself, I want to expand to eventually become a Reiki Master so I can share and be a channel of energy for the people of the world. 

Have you experienced  Reiki? 

DO you want to experience it? 

I would love to know your thoughts!!!

You may also like

Leave a Comment